Lighthouse motors

A place to discuss air movers, blowers, vacuum motors etc . . . this is a closed forum only open to members

Postby Flash » Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:17 pm

I noticed that you didn't paint the inside of your bench. could the area be seeping through the mdf?

Is the motor plate, mdf, sealed all the way around its 4 corners?........... Make that 8 corners................
Gordon
Flash
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 1:23 pm
Location: Evanston Wy

Postby emarsh » Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:15 am

Flash wrote:I noticed that you didn't paint the inside of your bench. could the area be seeping through the mdf?

Is the motor plate, mdf, sealed all the way around its 4 corners?........... Make that 8 corners................

I don't know about air seeping through the MDF. It's 3/4" thick so I'd think that if there was any seepage it would be minimal.

I've got silicone on all of the edges of the motor plate except where the door goes on. I have thick weather stripping on the door, as per below. The door is held in place by eight studs with nuts on them. I attached all the check valves with gorilla glue and then replaced the flapper on those without fans with a piece of polyurea.

Finally, just to be sure that everything is air tight after the door goes on I've been putting a thin bead of silicone around the seam where it fits into the flow bench.

Also, I coated the bench itself with a couple coats of a poly-aspartic.

Image
emarsh
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:06 pm

Postby bruce » Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:17 pm

The plans call out specifically painting the inside of the panels, MDF will loose a good amount of air. There is a post on here showing MDF bubbling up a soap spray solution that was sprayed onto one of the panels on someone's flowbench.
"There is no more formidable adversary than one who perceives he has nothing to lose." - Gen. George S. Patton
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 12:17 pm

Postby emarsh » Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:07 am

I'd sealed the outside of the box but missed the fact that the inside needs to be coated too. I'll take a shot at it and see what happens.
emarsh
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:06 pm

Postby fast_crew » Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:28 pm

Was wondering if there is any update on your bench Emarsh did this take care of the low pressure issues??
Josh K.
fast_crew
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: PA

Postby emarsh » Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:20 am

No, I've sealed the inside and that doesn't seem to have any effect. With the 300 CFM plate in place I can just about pull 28". I'm starting to think that I might have to buy another motor.
emarsh
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:06 pm

Postby Flash » Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:02 pm

emarsh wrote:No, I've sealed the inside and that doesn't seem to have any effect. With the 300 CFM plate in place I can just about pull 28". I'm starting to think that I might have to buy another motor.

emarsh, I think you need another motor too.

I only have 4 motors in my bench, 2 High power LH motors and 2 that make less cfm then the standard LH motors.

I can only pull 200 cfm @28" then the rest of my test, I have to test at 10" and convert to 28"
Gordon
Flash
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 1:23 pm
Location: Evanston Wy

Postby blaktopr » Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:39 am

Emarsh. Where is your bench. In the house or in a garage. If in the garage, how far is it from the house?? Does it have it's own service drop or is it fed from the house/main structure? You will get different results depending on these facctors. Bruce has about 25 feet of feeder from his main panel. Where then someone like me has about 75 feet from house to garage. Then another 20 feet from subpanel in garage to subpanel for the bench. Add in wire size, amount of connections, and voltage from the street, can add up to net you a lesser air result. I have Surplus motors and need 5 for 285 to 295 CFM. 8 motors for 350. I see this with even running power tools on job sites. Long cords, small guage wire, or even a low output from a generator will change how much power the tool will have.
Chris Sikorski
blaktopr
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:03 pm
Location: New Jersey

Postby coulterracn » Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:00 am

blaktopr wrote:Emarsh. Where is your bench. In the house or in a garage. If in the garage, how far is it from the house?? Does it have it's own service drop or is it fed from the house/main structure? You will get different results depending on these facctors. Bruce has about 25 feet of feeder from his main panel. Where then someone like me has about 75 feet from house to garage. Then another 20 feet from subpanel in garage to subpanel for the bench. Add in wire size, amount of connections, and voltage from the street, can add up to net you a lesser air result. I have Surplus motors and need 5 for 285 to 295 CFM. 8 motors for 350. I see this with even running power tools on job sites. Long cords, small guage wire, or even a low output from a generator will change how much power the tool will have.

For those who want to know how much voltage drop you may have try this voltage drop calculator
voltage drop
"I know I'm in my own little world, but it's ok, they know me here"
coulterracn
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:54 pm
Location: Pascagoula, MS

Postby blaktopr » Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:24 pm

Here is another one for ya. Slider plate leak. Mine has it pretty bad. Now all I have to do is find a way to fix this. My box is different than yours though cause it is a separate unit and built with datos. (My own design) Then when it was assembled, some pieces "shifted".
Chris Sikorski
blaktopr
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:03 pm
Location: New Jersey

Postby jfholm » Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:18 pm

The slider plate leakage could act like a fuel pressure bypass and bypass air pressure either direction and only allow you to attain a certain pressure. This might be especially noticable with smaller capacity motors.
It is a wise man that learns from his mistakes, but it is a wiser man that learns from the mistakes of others.
jfholm
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:12 pm
Location: Utah, USA

Postby blaktopr » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:43 pm

I shimmed the intake side, somehow it got a little larger there. Snuck a thin steel plate in there with another hole. I am up to 365@34". Using the DM plate in the bench. Next time I have to assemble something like this more carefully.
Chris Sikorski
blaktopr
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:03 pm
Location: New Jersey

Postby bruce » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:12 pm

blaktopr wrote:Here is another one for ya. Slider plate leak. Mine has it pretty bad. Now all I have to do is find a way to fix this. Not sure the way it's done as per Bruce's plans, I did mine by measuring and is really close.

I want to clarify this; Chris' wetflow bench is not built based on my PTS plans so his slider plate assembly is not the same as what is in my PTS plans.




Edited By bruce on 1256354024
"There is no more formidable adversary than one who perceives he has nothing to lose." - Gen. George S. Patton
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 12:17 pm

Postby blaktopr » Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:07 am

bruce wrote:
blaktopr wrote:Here is another one for ya. Slider plate leak. Mine has it pretty bad. Now all I have to do is find a way to fix this. Not sure the way it's done as per Bruce's plans, I did mine by measuring and is really close.

I want to clarify this; Chris' wetflow bench is not built based on my PTS plans so his slider plate assembly is not the same as what is in my PTS plans.

I didn't mean to imply that it was said that way, I thought I wrote it showing I was a BOOB who built it my way, which is not the same as the PTS plan. My own home design. Sorry for any mixup.
Chris Sikorski
blaktopr
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:03 pm
Location: New Jersey

Previous

Return to Air Movers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron