orifice flow calculations? - How to measure them

Orifice Style bench discussions

Postby Dynodon » Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:06 pm

Hello to everyone, this is my first time at this forum. Just from what I've seen and read so far has answered alot of my questions. I've already built a bench from the PHR magazine article, but used a Dwyer incline manometer. But I didn't know that it would match the bench flow numbers because of the differences in the inh2o. But thanks to this sight I have seen the errors of my ways. My question is how to calculate the flow of an orifice!. I've read just about everything on this sight and am not sure what to think about the formulas. I've also tried the online calculator but am not sure that I've entered the right figures into the formula. Those values are for calculatinig liquids. And based on flow through a pipe. So what works? Thanks for all the info so far! Dynodon.
Dynodon

Postby 84-1074663779 » Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:13 pm

Welcome to the Forum, Dynodon.

That is the one big question that is a constant source of interest and discussion amongst flowbench people. The problem is that the flow conditions of the upstream air entering the orifice can have a pretty dramatic effect on the orifice flow coefficient.

There are really only two situations where a formula is going to come reasonably close to something you can duplicate on your own bench. First is where the orifice plate is mounted reasonably flush in a large flat surface, with a vast volume of completely undisturbed (room) air upstream. Provided the orifice diameter is much larger than its thickness, and the orifice is well made, flow and pressure drop will be fairly consistent.

Another way to do it is to mount a specified orifice in a long straight pipe of known stated diameter. This gets tricky. But it is useful for measuring flow in a real world engineering or process flow measurement situation.